Archive for June 27, 2012

A gift for my niece.

In the next few weeks, I am moving back to my parent’s home, a home I haven’t lived in for over three years. Though I’m sad to leave the comfort and normalcy of my apartment, I am so looking forward to stepping outside each morning to watch the sun rise over the Sierra Nevada, to warm my feet by a wood stoked fire, to clean flower beds and feed dogs. It shall be a temporary move, a window to allow me to prepare for a cross-country move, to save money and to ready myself for what I’ve been working towards the past six years. It’s a bittersweet goodbye to my wonderful parents, people who have raised me to appreciate the value of a dollar, to look at the world from an aware perspective, who have cheered me on when no one else would.

But, going from a two bedroom, two bath apartment to a tiny room on the side of a hill takes some downsizing. In the process of packing (or de-cluttering?) I have found many items I purchased long ago, in hopes of making gifts and mementos. Instead of tossing, or spending, I’m trying to use or reuse items. The first, a ceramic pig, I purchased for my now almost year old niece, a year ago.

Simply painted, I hope she uses this piggy through her adolescents to save for important things, like nail polish, and ribbons, and bangles. I hope at ten, she empties it to buy my sister a well-deserved Mother’s Day gift, at sixteen she prays over it, gathering enough spare change for concert tickets. I hope as it gets moved over and over around her room, she knows that her auntie–though far away–loves her and wants nothing but sunshine and happy days for her.

June 27, 2012 at 8:45 pm 1 comment


June 2012
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 523 hits